• Improving Academic Achievement of the Disadvantaged

    Title I of the Every Student Succeeds Act (formerly known as the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001) is a federal program that provides funds to school districts and schools to support a variety of services. This program, authorized by Congress, provides supplemental funds to school districts to assist schools with the highest student concentrations of poverty to meet school educational goals. Its overall purpose is to ensure that all children have a fair, equal, and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education and attain high academic standards. The grant contains provisions for ensuring that children who are disadvantaged enrolled in private schools also benefit from the academic enrichment services funded with Title I, Part A funds.

    Schools qualify based on demonstrating that the K-12, ages 5-17, membership has a sufficiently high percentage of economically disadvantaged students. 

    Title I funds promote:

    • High academic/achievement for all children

    • A greater focus on teaching and learning

    • Flexibility to stimulate local initiatives coupled with responsibility for student performance

    • Improved connections among schools, parents and communities

    Purpose of Title I

    The purpose of Title I is to provide supplemental funding that may be used to provide additional instructional staff, professional development, extended learning programs, and other strategies for raising student achievement in high poverty schools.

    Critical program elements are:

    • Comprehensive needs assessment and schoolwide plan

    • Support for Title I Focus and Priority schools

    • Support for migrant and ELL students

    • Coordination of services for homeless students in non-Title I schools

    • High-quality teachers and paraprofessionals

    • Professional Development


    Hendry County Title I Schools

    • LaBelle Elementary School                          Sandra Taylor, Principal

    • Country Oaks Elementary School                 Robin Jones, Principal

    • Upthegrove Elementary School                    Larry Luckey, Principal

    • LaBelle Middle School                                  Ken Pickles, Principal

    • Westside Elementary School                        Anthony Busin, Principal

    • Eastside Elementary                                    Kristi Durance, Principal

    • Central Elementary School                           Melissa Carter, Principal

    • Clewiston Middle School                              Lori Duckstein, Principal